We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used. Read our cookie policy. I understand

ENO Mackerras Fellowship

The ENO Mackerras Fellowship provides a unique opportunity for an exceptional emerging conducting talent to develop their skills through a structured two year programme with mentoring from ENO Music Director, Mark Wigglesworth.

Throughout the programme, the fellow works closely with our music director, acts as assistant conductor and off-stage conductor for selected ENO productions, assists and supports our ENO Harewood Artists and shadows Mark Wigglesworth at his guest conducting and recording engagements.

The ENO Mackerras Fellowship celebrates the legacy of Sir Charles Mackerras, ENO Music Director between 1970 and 1977. Our current Mackerras Fellow is Fergus Macleod.

The ENO Mackerras Fellowship is made possible with the generous philanthropic support of The Philip Loubser Foundation.