International Opera Awards shortlist announced

2nd March 2016 in News

The shortlist for the 2016 International Opera Awards have been announced.

The ENO Chorus are nominated in the Chorus category, with Music Director Mark Wigglesworth shortlisted in the Conductor category.

Designers Vicki Mortimer (who worked on ENO’s first children’s opera  The Way Back Home), Rebecca Ringst (the designer of Calixto Bieito’s The Force of Destiny) and Michael Levine (the designer of Simon McBurney’s The Magic Flute) feature in the Designer category. Katie Mitchell, the director of The Way Back Home is nominated in the Director’s category.

Countertenor Anthony Roth Constanzo who is about to make his role debut  as Akhnaten with ENO is nominated in the Best Male Singer category. Daisy Evans, a regular staff director with ENO is nominated in the Young Director category.

The winners will be announced on Sunday 15 May at a ceremony in Central London. For further details of all those shortlisted, visit the Opera Awards website.