ENO Chorus

The ENO chorus is one of the finest professional operatic ensembles in the UK today.

Tracing its roots to the founding of Sadler’s Wells Opera Company by Lilian Baylis in 1931, the ENO Chorus is committed to bringing opera sung in English to the widest possible audiences in thrilling and theatrically inventive productions.

The ENO Chorus plays a key role in the company ensemble, performing repertoire from Henry Purcell to Philip Glass and recent notable successes include major new productions of Otello, The Mastersingers of Nuremberg, The Queen of Spades, Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk and The Force of Destiny and the world premiere of Julian Andersen’s The Thebans.

They have performed Death in Venice at Het Muziektheater, Amsterdam, an acclaimed Peter Grimes at the BBC Proms and sung at the Aldeburgh Festival and the Barbican.

The ENO Chorus has participated in several recordings as part of Chandos’ Opera in English series, and has appeared in ENO Screen live broadcasts of Peter Grimes, Benvenuto Cellini, Carmen, La traviata, The Pirates of Penzance, The Barber of Seville and The Mikado.

Members of the ENO Chorus regularly perform principal roles at ENO, and participate in the work of ENO Baylis, the company’s learning and participation team.

At the 2016 Laurence Olivier Awards, the ENO Chorus and Orchestra won the award for Outstanding Achievement in Opera, and the Chorus were named Chorus of the Year at the 2016 International Opera Awards.

The performance is unmissable for ENO’s wonderful chorus, surely unmatchable in this music this side of St. Petersburg.

– Sunday Times on the 2015 performance of Tchaikovsky’s The Queen of Spades

Chorus Master

James Henshaw

Assistant Chorus Master

Mark Biggins

Chorus Manager

David Dyer

Orchestra and Chorus Assistant

Lauren Woods


Joanne Appleby
Penelope Beaven
Fiona Canfield
Gloria Crane
Natalie Herman
Ella Kirkpatrick
Claire Mitcher
Claire Pendleton
Susan Rann
Jane Read


Morag Boyle
Deborah Davison
Judith Douglas
Karen Foster
Suzanne Joyce
Amy Kerenza Sedgwick
Lydia Marchione
Sara McGuinness
Rebecca Stockland
Susanna Tudor-Thomas


Allan Adams
Philip Daggett
Geraint Hylton
Murray Kimmins
Graeme Lauren
David Newman
Anton Rich
Pablo Strong
Adam Sullivan
Garry Sutcliffe


Robert Winslade Anderson
Trevor Bowes
Michael Burke
David Campbell
Ronald Nairne
Paul Napier-Burrows
David Porter-Thomas
Paul Sheehan
Christopher Speight
Andrew Tinkler